Color management questions

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
bfilm
Mitglied

Color management questions

Beitrag von bfilm »

I am just beginning to explore PhotoLine and like it very much so far. I also really appreciate that it can be used through WINE on Linux. I am currently trying it through WINE on FreeBSD and the "PhotoLine without installer" runs well in 64-bit WINE.

I have some questions about how the color management works in PhotoLine. I am using the color management with Little CMS.

How are the settings chosen in Edit > Options... > Color Management related to the settings in Tool > Color > Convert With Color Profile...?

For example, I have chosen Use Blackpoint Compensation in the Options, but it is not automatically selected in the Convert dialogue. In the Convert dialogue, I must choose it again if I want to use it. Are these two locations where it is possible to choose Use Blackpoint Compensation referring to different operations?

What color management operations use the Rendering intent chosen in Edit > Options... > Color Management?

What rendering intent is used when Automatic is chosen in Tool > Color > Convert With Color Profile...?

Thank you.
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler

Re: Color management questions

Beitrag von Martin Huber »

bfilm hat geschrieben: Fr 19 Jan 2024 07:17 How are the settings chosen in Edit > Options... > Color Management related to the settings in Tool > Color > Convert With Color Profile...?
They are not related.
The profiles in "Edit > Options... > ColorManagement" are used when there is no profile available in certain situations.
Examples:
- If you load a RGB image without profile, PhotoLine uses the RGB profile set there (including the rendering intent)