New Filter Brush

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
bruce1951
Mitglied
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2016 17:03

New Filter Brush

Post by bruce1951 »

Is it possible or can I add a new Filter Brush?

Rather than doing a Global noise reduction, Denoise. Or making a Selection with something like Free Lasso and Denoising that selection it would be nice to have a Denoise Brush as an option in Filter Brush. Set the size of the brush and simply brush away noise in small areas.

Any ideas?

thanks
PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Re: New Filter Brush

Post by PhilM »

Rather than "Filter" , why not using an Adjustment layer/Denoise ?
Then, invert the mask.
Then paint the mask with white (or gray) brush where Denoise is needed.

The advantage is that Denoise parameters can be tuned at any time in the adjustment layer.
bruce1951
Mitglied
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2016 17:03

Re: New Filter Brush

Post by bruce1951 »

Thanks PhilM but for simple little touch ups that's still a long way around!
PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Re: New Filter Brush

Post by PhilM »

Bruce,

Easy : add the "Adjustment layer/Denoise" to your custom tool bar. And/Or create a keyboard shortcut for it. (one time effort)

Then, apply the Denoise layer to your image.
"Alt I" to invert the mask
"B" for Brush
Paint the area that need denoise.

And it is non destructive.

Regards

Phil
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4074
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: New Filter Brush

Post by Martin Huber »

bruce1951 wrote: Fri 02 Dec 2022 11:46Set the size of the brush and simply brush away noise in small areas.
Depending on the kind of noise, Adaptive Soften might be sufficient. It has the same options as "Intensity Noise" of Denoise.
bruce1951
Mitglied
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2016 17:03

Re: New Filter Brush

Post by bruce1951 »

Thanks Martin. I've tried that and it's a good compromise.